change is in the air

Oh dear readers, how I dislike change.  I loathe it.  But it’s not the actual change I hate, it’s the process.  Similar to how you plan a vacation, and then on a layover with a delayed flight, you remember how much you dislike the voyage.  It’s the destination that matters.  Yet I see myself often caught in that process because I get bored with the routine.

I survived day one, and I find myself close to successfully finishing day two.  Not that I never thought it was doable, but I’m beginning to think it may be more doable than I thought.  As long as I have snacks I can eat around such as popcorn, yogurt or cheese, I’m able to avoid the leftover cake and donut holes.  Made myself a salad for lunch with my leftover chicken/onions/rice and added some feta.  And finished lunch up with rice pudding.  Thank god for Trader Joe’s.

Dinner last night was a huge success.  Since it’s Restaurant Week in Cincinnati, there was a set menu at the restaurant which made me nervous.  But I was able to eat the beet salad and pork.  I couldn’t eat the triage of desserts, so to make it up, my waitress had the kitchen make me a special dessert of coffee ice cream and strawberries.  I feel so fortunate that everyone has been so understanding.

But as I find myself opening this new door, I find myself closing another one.  I had to tell someone I care about very deeply I thought we should just be friends.  This was not an easy decision to come to, but one that I think will better both of our lives.  And one that I am surprisingly not emotional about.  Meaning – I do feel sadness, but I am okay with this decision.  Which confirms that it’s the right one.  And maybe in a few years we can touchbase and see if we’re in the spot to be together again.  I think for now, I need to focus on me and this new journey I’ve embarked on.

And as for the results from day one?  For those who know me may know I suffer frequent back pain from herniating a disk twice.  However, I’ve never explained that I have chronic pain that has not gone away for months.  Which makes it embarrassing when I can’t pick something up off the ground or when I wear fitting clothes and it’s clear my hips are out of line.  But today?  I am pain free for the first time in months.  Even if none of my other symptoms went away, I would stay gluten free solely to be able to move like a 23 year old should.

Tomorrow holds Oktoberfest which should be interesting because I’m trying to figure out what to do with my gluten free beer.  I checked and none of the beer vendors will have gluten free options, but since open containers are okay, I’m considering taking some bottles with me.  But my biggest concern is the taste.  Crossing my fingers it is even somewhat similar to actual beer.  If anyone has any experience with gluten free beer, I’d love recommendations on the best brands!

But for now, I must get ready for dinner with my dad.  Another attempt at eating out gluten free.  We’ll see how this goes!

2 thoughts on “change is in the air

  1. Hi, just stumbled accross your blog. I too am just begining a gluten free journey… I’m on day 2 and discovering this is going to be quite the process. Yet, I don’t think it will be as difficult as I originally thought- there are actually a lot of gluten free options out there. I’m doing my best not to think about what I’ll miss out on, but all the new things I’ll get to try… not to mention how much better I’ll feel. Best of luck to you!

    • I wish you all the best! I’m only on day 4, so we’re on the same journey! But I am trying to take the same approach as you – focus on what we can eat and how much better we’ll feel! I’d love to know any tips or tricks you find along the way!

Leave a Reply

