what now

According to Mint.com this month, I have gone over my grocery budget.  But for the first time in awhile, I haven’t gone over my restaurant budget.  Clearly, giving up gluten has adjusted my eating habits.

So far, gluten has relieved my back pain, given me more energy, made me eat better, and lightened my dark circles.  But for those thinking it may be a miracle cure, it hasn’t been for me.  I still have headaches and stomach issues.  Lactose may be next.

The one positive thing that has come out of all of this is that I’ve been able to share my knowledge with others.  I’ve been through it all (literally), and I’ve learned so much along my digestive journey – and the more I talk about my issues, the more I realize there are many people going through the same thing.  So through my honesty and openness, I hope that I am helping others.

And along this way, I’m trying new recipes and new foods.

Tonight I had a gluten free cheese pizza, but I thought that sounded so boring.  So, I made roasted garlic to put on top of it.  I found the recipe here, super easy, and amazingly delicious.  I wish the photo below could give you an idea of how amazing the kitchen smelled.

I’m planning on using the extra cloves tomorrow on my salad with chicken and cooked onions.

In other news, I’ve moved into my parent’s house as they’re traveling.  Somebody has to look at Nola cat.  I originally planned on moving her to my apartment, but I love my parent’s house so much, Nola likes the space, and not using electricity for an extended period of time (save some serious $$$) outweighed the moving of clothes and longer commute.

Plus – their kitchen is so much more equipped for all the cooking I’m going to be doing.

Have a great week everyone!

Leave a Reply

