the joys of cooking

As I sit her typing watching amazing Monday TV (seriously – Monday is quickly becoming my new favorite night for television), my kitchen is smelling with the delicious scents of baked onions, sweet potatoes and thyme.

I have to thank my friend Karen for inadvertently introducing me to Gojee – a website where you type in ingredients you have or want and what you don’t like, and it gives you recipes.  And as we transition to fall, I hate the cold weather, but I love the food.  Nothing like pumpkin, sweet potato and butternut squash as forms of comfort food.  Did I mention my favorite color is orange?

So I picked a few recipes that stood out to me, went to the grocery store, and after picking up some beef stew from a family friend (thank you Mrs. Badanes!), I got started.

The first thing I decided to make was this because I’m a sucker for pumpkin and oatmeal.  I’m not sure if it will be my complete breakfast replacement, since I was turned on to adding spinach to smoothies by my mom.  I made a strawberry-banana smoothie with spinach, uncooked steel cut oats, orange juice, vanilla greek yogurt and protein powder.  Surprisingly delicious.

Anyway – back to the recipe.  Amazingly easy, and the results are delicious.  I can’t wait to try it tomorrow morning!

So I had leftover pumpkin puree and decided to make a pumpkin smoothie/ice cream of sorts.  Just blended the leftover puree, cream, pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg, cinnamon and ice.  Super creamy and a mild pumpkin taste.

So while the pumpkin oatmeal baked, I decided to make this, which is currently making my kitchen smell heavenly.  I’m not sure if will be quite as amazing as the recipe since I didn’t have the right amount of cheese, and the sweet potatoes were a little old, but it sure does smell amazing.

Can’t wait to see what this looks like/tastes when it’s done!

I even had a helper in the kitchen.

I think tomorrow I may try cooking this and this.

Leave a Reply

