Famine

I will try to hold back from ever using my blog as a platform for the causes I am passionate about (although I can’t promise they won’t leak out during a post or two), but as I struggled to think about what to write about tonight, the only thing I could think about was the famine in East Africa.

A coworker today asked me if I had donated money, and I remember getting to the UNICEF page, and just not following through. For those of you who aren’t up to speed, you can reference this.

Currently, through Oct. 18, UNICEF is matching donations dollar for dollar.  So if there’s ever a time to donate, it’s now.  You can make a donation here.

The reason I ended up donating today was because I believe in signs, and after my coworker mentioned that, I came across an article while doing some reading on an advertising site about this.  So of course – it struck me this was something I need to do.

It also made me realize, on days when I get bummed out I can’t eat gluten and I feel sorry for myself, that there are so many bigger things that could be happening.  And at the end of the day, I have food to eat.

Count your blessings.

Leave a Reply

