Denial

For those reading this with celiac or gluten intolerance, my denial on the following topic will come as no surprise.  Well, to anyone who eats, denial won’t be a surprise.  But still – I’m refusing to admit to myself that I may be lactose intolerant.

I know something like 50% of people with a gluten intolerance are also lactose intolerant, but come on.  Really??  I already can’t eat half my favorite foods – now I can’t eat the other half??

The stomach issues have returned this week and I can pinpoint it fairly closely to after I’ve eaten dairy products.  Milk and cereal sends me to the bathroom hours later.  Same thing with anything made with chocolate, butter or cheese.  It’s like I’m back to square 1 again.  And while gluten was frustrating but manageable, dairy? Lactose? CHEESE?!

So in response to this rejection of all favorite foods by my body, I am considering a full cleanse for an extended period of time for my bosy to flush out all toxins or allergies that I may be struggling with.  I’m not sure if this will solve anything, but it may help prove to myself, that worse case, I can survive without my favorite foods.

Has anyone else done anything similar?  Has it solved anything?  Because as I know everyone says it gets better once you adjust, I’m not ready to commit.  Otherwise, I may have to open a gluten/milk free restaurant/bakery.  Oy.

8 thoughts on “Denial

  1. Hi there,
    I just found your blog and I was fascinated because you sound exactly like me when I was your age! (I’m 27 now, so I’m clearly old and wise, haha.) Just before I was diagnosed with celiac disease, I was working at Ben & Jerry’s and feeling really sad about it because I was starting to think I was lactose intolerant, but then I stopped eating gluten and my lactose issues miraculously disappeared on their own. It was the coolest thing ever, if you ignore the fact of losing gluten. I don’t know if this is the case for everyone, but your lactose issues my go away with time if you really stick to your gluten free diet. =)
    xoxo

  2. Hey, I’m 21 and recently gluten and dairy free. I knew for a long time that my body didn’t like dairy products so I started weaning myself away in this order: milk (the toughest on my stomach), cheese, yogurt, and finally any products with dairy in them (although I cheat with the occasional piece of milk chocolate…shhh!) It was hard to give it all up but totally worth it. After a little while, I gave up gluten completely and I honestly can’t believe how much time I spent feeling sick!

    It’s hard but I promise you worth trying to see if it makes you feel better. Good luck!

    • I think the hardest part about the whole thing is some days I feel great – and other days I feel lousy. So when I feel great, it’s easy to forget how bad I felt. But I completely agree with you that it’ll be worth feeling better! Thank you for your comment and sharing your background. I’m learning so much through other’s experiences!

  3. I’m just one year younger than you and dealing with the same issues, so your blog is wonderful to read! My lactose problems set in a few months after my gluten issues, and I find that taking a Lactaid tablet or two before eating dairy products makes the symptoms diminished or gone completely. They’re fairly inexpensive and come in handy when the gluten-free pasta or pizza you want is loaded with cheese. Also, aged cheeses and yogurts high in probiotics usually contain less lactose so they are easier to digest for those with lactose intolerance. Hope this helps!

  4. As CreatingLaura commented, it is possible to ‘grow out of’ lactose intolerance. If you stick to a completely gluten/wheat free diet you can begin to tolerate dairy again. I was diagnosed with coeliac disease when I was 13 (I’m 17 now), I did cut out dairy, but not completely – I love cheese way too much too!
    I only drink non-dairy milks (I found even lactose free milk gave me problems – try almond, soy, rice milks) and eat lactose free yogurt, but I do eat chocolate and dairy cheese every now and then which I find I can tolerate muuuch better than when I was first diagnosed with coeliac, now that my stomach has seemed to heal.

Leave a Reply

