Starch Pounding

As I’ve given up gluten, I’ve realized my food cravings has changed.  I know I mentioned this in a previous entry where I talked about craving more fruits.  However, with the weather changing, all I want are starches.  Chili filled with beans, potatoes, gluten free pizza, sweet potatoes – I want it all.  And although I don’t give into every craving for these things, I’m realizing that I am eating significantly more of these things.

Part of it is is that it’s easy.  If I’m in a hurry, forgot my lunch, or don’t have time to fix dinner between evening plans, they’re the very few things I can eat from fast food restaurants.  I have come to love Wendy’s Pick 2.  I can get a small Baja salad (which is gluten free) with a baked potato.  But – because the Baja salad comes with no meat on it, they give you chili to put on top.  So essentially, I get a side salad, a baked potato and a bowl of chili for $4.99.  Typically I only eat the salad and chili and save the potato for later.  But what a deal!

And in regards to eating starches, I’m trying to load up before I start a cleanse later this week.  I’m meeting with the doctor about it Wednesday, but essentially, I’ll only be eating meats, fruits and vegetables to get rid of everything my body has trouble digesting.  After about 6 weeks, I’ll start reintroducing foods into my diet to see how I react.  I already know I can’t eat gluten, but I’m interested to see how I react to other foods – such as lactose.

I do have a recipe for you today, but unfortunately, I failed at taking any pictures.  I’ve had a neck/shoulder kink since Friday that has gotten exponentially worse.  I had to leave work to go see the chiropractor and get the massage therapist to work on it.  It felt better, but by the end of the day I was back to having fairly excruciating pain.  So I was so focused on just getting this recipe done that I didn’t think to snap any photos.

While in pain at work today, I tried to think of comfort foods that I could make with what I had in my kitchen.  Since I’m not buying groceries in preparation of my cleanse, that makes it exponentially more difficult.  However, I remembered I had sweet potatoes (starch!) and I had yet to make mashed sweet potatoes.  I modified the recipe to reflect the 4 potatoes I had.  I also added some honey and cinnamon in addition to the maple syrup.  And if I had to do it again, I’d probably put less butter as the milk and maple syrup make the potatoes fairly creamy.  I also recommend using something sharper than my IKEA knives to cut the raw potatoes into chunks as my hand was killing me by the end of it.  But they turned out beyond delicious, and I have a huge amount of leftovers for the rest of the week.

So now I must unload the dishwasher/load it before I lay down for the evening to rest my neck/shoulders.

And one final note – I want to thank everyone for their comments, e-mails, IMs, phone calls, etc.  I know I have thanked my friends and family here (thank you!!), but I also wanted to thank the people I don’t know who read my blog and comment saying they’re going through the same issues.  Your words help me realize I’m not going through this alone, and as much as it sucks and I really just want a big hamburger with a huge bun, it’s not worth the pain it’ll put me through.  Keep your comments coming!

Leave a Reply

