New Year, New You

As I sit here drinking tea and watching House Hunters, I can’t help but think about how much my life has changed since my previous post.

Don’t worry, dear readers, I am still very much gluten-free.  So I don’t need to change of the name of my blog, or rebrand myself.

The main area of change is that I am officially done with my cleanse.  Technically I’ve been done since Dec. 15, but beside being busy, I’ve been trying to figure out which foods my body has reactions to.

I went pretty dairy crazy at the end of the cleanse because I was so excited to eat cheese, sour cream, cream cheese, any and everything with milk.  And my stomach got a little iffy on that.  So I’ve really tried to cut back on milk except for cream which I put in my tea.

Otherwise, my body had some weird reactions to foods, not in the sense of my usual stomach issues, but with bloating and weight gain.  As in like 3 lbs in a day without overeating.  I finally found a balance that my body seems to enjoy with a high protein, low carb diet.  I’m not eating sugars or starches, so it’s not that difficult – and it does give me the ability to eat bacon which makes up for the lack of cheese.  I also gave up snacking which my body has reacted well to.  Finally, I take a probiotic daily just to help with food digestion.

My typical meals (since I know you’re gonna ask) are:

Breakfast: Eggs, bacon or sausage and tea

Lunch: Assortment of options – but often a salad with a protein and balsamic vinegar.

Dinner: Protein and some assortment of vegetables

It’s fairly similar to the Paleo diet, just with slight modifications based on my stomach.

I’m planning on doing the cleanse again at the end of January to give my body another period of time to heal from any potential food allergies, as well as because I lost a significant amount of weight this first time – so why not??

I did go off my eating plan for a trip to Chicago for New Years.  No gluten, but I did have some sugars, starches, fast food and alcohol.  I was nervous the entire time I’d have an “episode” but my stomach was fine the entire time.  Even after drinking on New Year’s Eve.  Truly a blessing.

Some other big changes are that I switched jobs.  I’m now working at a market research firm doing digital and social media research for them.  It’s a firm I worked at while still in college, so it’s nice to be back.  I also just found out today that they’re sending me to SXSW in March, so I’m pretty pumped!  Here I come, Austin!

I also got new glasses to take advantage of my old insurance while I still had it.  They’re matching my New Year, New You theme.

Aside from all that, everything else is the same.  I promise to post recipes soon.  I have experimented with this chocolate dessert made with stevia and coconut oil.  It tastes pretty similar to the chocolate coating you get on ice cream that hardens which I love.  Now if only I could figure out how to make it cherry flavored…

And as my word of advice to all my readers – I rarely make resolutions, but this year is slightly different.  This year I’m putting my health as my number #1 priority and making sure I get my stomach issues completely under control.  If there’s something that’s nagging you, take it upon yourself this year to fix it.  If not now, when?

Leave a Reply

