The Pain

As I write my posts, I hope that most of you can’t relate.  Ideally, I would hope that food would be a friend for all of you.  But as I know that’s not the case, I hope at least for most of you, food and you are on first name, got each other on speed dial, basis.

Until today, I thought I was getting back to that status.  In fact, last week, I was telling someone I hadn’t had a stomach issue since October.  Well my friends, that streak has ended.

I must have eaten something in the salad I made at Whole Foods that had gluten in it because I’m paying for it today.  I tweeted this once – but if I’m going to eat something with gluten, I’d so much rather know and enjoy it than not know and pay for it later without any knowledge.

The cycle of food allergies goes something like this (for me at least – I can’t say it’s true for everyone):

– eat something bad

– feel a little weird later a few hours later

– very uncomfortable/painful stomach gurglings towards the end of the day

– feel decent the next morning

– about two hours after waking, it starts to hit

– lots and lots of stomach issues

– body shuts down

– lots of stomach noises (like can hear across the room gurgles)

– exhaustion

This is when I don’t think people can relate.  Stomach issues – yeah, everyone has those once in awhile.  It’s the body shutting down.  About 8-24 hours after eating gluten (time depends on the amount I consumed), my body just legitimately begins to shut down.  My brain doesn’t form clear thoughts, it’s almost impossible for me to keep my eyes open, I’m so groggy all I want is bed, but my stomach is so messed up, that’s not an option.

So anyway, I did something kind of radical today because I was so annoyed.  I’m still unsure if I had gluten or some form of dairy that bothered me (dairy – our love/hate relationship is getting old).  But I told my mom I really really really really wanted frozen yogurt, and she said “why not?”

Done.  I haven’t had any form of ice cream/frozen yogurt/my favorite obsession since October.  And since I already felt so sick, I figured it couldn’t get a whole lot worse.  BUT, I decided to get Lactaid and take that, just to see if it helped.

I forgot how much I love ice cream (okay fro yo, but technicality).  So much so, that I got a second helping.  But, just as an FYI – read food nutrition facts before you go because at least half the flavors Orange Leaf had, had gluten (not limited to Chocolate Brownie, Birthday Cake, Red Velvet Cake, Peanut Butter, etc.)  I took a Lactaid after my first bite, as instructed, and after about 5 more bites, I took another one just in case.  After we finished, we sat and talked for close to two hours – and guess what.  I feel fine.  I feel better than before I had it.

So I will now always carry Lactaid with me.  I probably won’t take it every time I have dairy, but anytime my stomach is already slightly on the fritz, I will.  Or any dairy heavy meal.

So those cheese lovers out there, of who cheese will not call you back (or is a stalker), try Lactaid.  Makes life slightly more bearable.

And as for ice cream and myself?  We had a fun run tonight, but for my health, I’m giving it up again.  It’s my achilles heel food, and I don’t want to abuse my body anymore than I have.

2 thoughts on “The Pain

  1. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Cheers

    • Hi! Setting up a blog is so easy – although I will recommend WordPress over Blogspot because I’ve had a better experience with WP. I’m still learning all the tricks, but setting up the format and all the basic stuff is very easy especially if you use a WordPress template, such as mine. And then just have fun with it. I never try to take it too seriously because it’s just not as fun.

Leave a Reply

