Reaching Out

I am often amazed by how the top of gluten can be a conversation starter for so many people. And for those who I’ve talked to, it often appears to open the door for conversations on other digestive issues.

I have truly been amazed by the amount of people that have talked to me, after I started this blog, just about how they face similar issues, or ask for advice, or ask for suggestions. For so many, it seems it’s a conversation they don’t 100% feel comfortable having with someone else. But as soon as I opened the door, they jumped. And in that – I feel blessed.

I like to joke that I have had every digestive test done to man. I’ve been poked, prodded, stuck, hospitalized, tilted, you name it, I’ve done it. But that only came after I felt open to talking to someone about what I was experiencing.

I struggled with issues that I can only attribute to IBS ever since I was a young child. And for a kid, how could you begin to explain to your friends that you had to go to the bathroom and you might be in there awhile, when you’re trying just to fit in. I tried many remedies of things I found around the house – tums were often my first go to. In my mind, they should solve all stomach issues. Obviously that didn’t work, so I searched for other remedies. I finally landed on All Bran crackers that I would eat when I had an “episode” to try and fill my stomach full of fiber so it would calm down. I’m sure that was more of a placebo effect – but I do still have a soft place in my heart for those crackers, even if I can no longer eat them.

I also ended up in the hospital at the most inconvenient times. On the way to church for a youth led service was my first gallbladder attack. The other attacks I avoided the hospital and instead tried to suffer in silence. The other time was at a friend’s birthday party in Toledo, Ohio where I had esophageal spasms.

The reason I tell all you this is because I want to encourage you to be open to talking to someone about the issues if you’re facing them. Please reach out to me if you want to know more, or if you think you might be facing something similar. I mean – I’ve had a tear in my ass – trust me – I can handle it.  I wish I had reached out earlier because I waited until I couldn’t take it any longer. And when I finally got settled with a gastroenterologist, it was life changing.

I wrote this whole post with the idea that I would discuss how I was cleansing again, but I got a little side tracked – so I’ll save that for another time.

I apologize if it got graphic at times, but I promise this post was the exception – and next time I’ll include recipes. Very overdue.

Leave a Reply

