A Few of My Favorite Things

The past few days, I have had a one track mind. Okay, maybe a two track mind. But really, a one track mind. I cannot stop thinking about food. Food, glorious food! Cinnamon rolls and bacon and cupcakes and frozen yogurt and cream and peanut butter and really, the list goes on. The second thing being The Hunger Games trilogy, but that’s a different story.

Up until probably Friday, the cleanse has been fairly easy. The time has been flying, and the lack of food choices haven’t bothered me. And then I got sick. A cold gone bad which for some reason seemed to stir up my appetite. It’s also hard when you’re sick and all you want is comfort food which is the last thing you can have. (Nothing like having the flu in Africa without any Western medicine – but that’s a different story).

It also doesn’t help that I follow food blogs and I’m hooked on recipes on Pinterest. I’m planning on going Paleo after the cleanse ends, so I’ve been pinning recipes for that – which does little to help the appetite.

But – I do feel a lot better, have had no headaches or stomach issues which is a huge deal for me. Aside from the cold, my health has dramatically improved. Makes it worth it.

Since I can’t post recipes, I decided to post a few of my favorite things. Most of these are things I’m using on the cleanse, but as a special treat, I’ve thrown in a few post cleanse things.

Enjoy!

Ah my Tervis Tumbler. I go everywhere with this thing. Considering I drink between 100-150 oz of water a day, it’s pretty much glued to my hand. I used to carry a CamelBak water bottle around, but the lid kept leaking so I switched to this. Doesn’t hurt that my favorite flower is a poppy.

I just bought this stuff at Fresh Market and I’m hooked! I adore garlic (and now I’m thinking of garlic bread – see, one track mind) and this may be the best garlic salt I’ve ever had. I could legitimately eat it straight (although I won’t because who does that? Okay I may have a little bit, oops).

Another Fresh Market purchase, but this has been the saving grace through the cleanse. This and any other mustard. Plus it makes me think of hot dogs which I love.

I’ve been drinking the decaf version of this while I type. My mom and I have tried many, MANY different kind of teas, and we keep coming back to this. Sweetened with a little stevia, it’s amazing. Granted, it’s a lot better off cleanse with a splash of cream, but even without, it’s still delicious. But really, if you can, try it with whole cream. You’ll thank me.

And because it can’t be a post without some actual food, a little something I found on Pinterest. If you want to see all the recipes I’ve pinned, you can check it out here: http://pinterest.com/hopernorman/grocery-list-making/

Buckeye Peanut Butter Balls (check it out here)

I couldn’t resist – here are two more.

Chocolate ice cream made with coconut milk and honey. Get the recipe here.

And probably the thing I’m looking forward to the most – bacon crusted sweet potato. You gotta make this for me and let me know how it is. Get the recipe here.

The cleanse ends March 9, just in time for me to go to Austin for SXSW, but you better believe the morning of the 9th, I will be frying up some bacon before my flight. BACON BACON BACON!

 

 

Leave a Reply

