Before & After

Let me preface this entry by saying that I never wanted this blog to be about weight loss. Not that there is anything wrong about weight loss blogs (I follow my fair share and love them!), but that’s not what I wanted my blog to be about. I want my blog to be about food and my exploration of food, and understanding how some kinds of food (aka gluten) can make me sick. Because when you’ve been sick for most of your life, and suddenly you aren’t, you want to talk about it. Or maybe that’s just me.

But because I have lost a lot of weight, I thought some of you might be interested in some before and after photos.  The photos got taken yesterday, and even I was surprised at the difference. I don’t see myself as this new different person – I see myself how I’ve always seen myself. And that means I have some work to do. But the core of who I am hasn’t changed, and that’s what matters to me.

I won’t tell you how much I weigh, but I will say this is an on-going thing. It’s work. It’s saying no to salted macadamia nuts, chocolate covered macadamia nuts and macadamia nut butter all in one day. It’s putting away the guacamole (seriously, guacamole and macadamia nuts and my new weaknesses!). And it’s looking at the before picture and thinking “Wow, getting dressed in the morning was a pain in the ass. I don’t wanna go back to that ‘Will this fit?'” And it’s a support system made up of friends and family who I love dearly and could not survive without.

So, here are the photos. I’ve lost 45lb and counting.  The quality of the photo of a scanned photo sucks. Sorry bout that.

 

Oh – and because this is a “food” blog, last night I made chicken fajitas with coconut oil, onions, multi-colored peppers, some bacon fat (adds SO much flavor) and guacamole. So delicious and so easy to make in my wok. Made for an even more delicious lunch. But seriously, I’m cutting back on the guacamole. Damn you avocados!

6 thoughts on “Before & After

  1. Good for you but I have an AWESOME Moc-Guac recipe that you must try. It’s alot healthier!
    Makes about 2 cups
    Slightly sweeter than the canned variety you might be used to, green garbanzo beans have a fresh flavor similar to peas. Serve this extra-green guac with raw veggies and baked tortilla chips or baked whole grain pita chips.

    Ingredients
    1 (10-ounce) bag frozen 365 Everyday Value® Green Garbanzo Beans
    1 clove garlic, halved
    1 avocado
    2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
    1 tablespoon lime juice
    1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
    1 fresh plum tomato, seeded and chopped
    1 tablespoon minced fresh jalapeño pepper, optional

    Method
    Cook beans according to package instructions. Drain and run under cold water to cool. Place cooled beans and garlic in the bowl of a food processor and pulse until coarsely chopped but not puréed. Transfer to a medium bowl and add avocado, cilantro, lime juice and salt. Mash until evenly blended. Stir in tomato and jalapeño, if using. Keep chilled until ready to serve.

    Nutrition

    Per serving (2 tablespoons): 40 calories (20 from fat), 2g total fat, 0g saturated fat, 0mg cholesterol, 80mg sodium, 4g total carbohydrate (2g dietary fiber, 0g sugar), 1g protein

  2. Wowee! Hope, what an accomplishment! You look amazing and I’m betting you feel amazing, too. Just know I’ve been witness to your true beauty for years = )

Leave a Reply

