The Best Breakfast Ever

I feel a little bit like I’ve been cheating on you. I was at a conference for work (thankfully in Cincinnati – between vacation in LA and dog/house sitting, I’ve been missing my bed!), and I was asked to blog as part of it. So I’ve been blogging. Just not for you. And I’d link to the blog, but unless you want to know more about market research, you might fall asleep. But just in case you feel like, it you can read them here and here.

So to make up for it, I’m going to tell you about this amazing thing that has legitimately changed my life. Acai bowls.

I should probably back up…while Cathy and I were in Santa Barbara, eating our way through California, we met the owner of Backyard Bowls, and after the madness of Cathy’s roof getting destroyed, we decided it was the best place to check out for a mental pick me up. Huge mistake. And I say that because Cathy and I now crave them non-stop. So much so, that I looked up flights for the opportunity to get one. Not cost effective.

I tracked what is being called an Acai Bowl at Yagoot, but it’s a version with frozen yogurt and not the healthiest granola. So I took matters into my own hand.

I’ve been making my own version of the bowl with the following. It’s amazing. Life changing even. You’ll thank me, I promise.

  • Almond milk
  • Sambazon Smoothie Packs (I found them at Whole Foods, so check there first. I also went with the unsweetened as I try not to eat sugar when at all possible)
  • Maca powder
  • Bee Pollen
  • Flaxseed
  • Coconut oil
  • Stevia
  • Frozen fruit (I’ve been mixing it up with frozen strawberries, berry blends, raspberries…really any berry combination)
  • Water as needed (I do about a 2:1 ratio of almond milk to water)

I top the bowl off with

  • Natural, gluten free granola
  • Local honey
  • Fresh strawberries
  • Fresh bananas
One thought on “The Best Breakfast Ever

  1. Pingback: Drinking for Cooler Weather | twenty-three and gluten free

Leave a Reply

