Mashed Potatoes, Cauliflower Style. REMIX

I thought if I just put the title as “Mashed Cauliflower” I’d probably only get a few readers. Or maybe that’s just because I didn’t like cauliflower growing up.

I would never define myself as a picky eater because I’m willing to try everything at least once. But I don’t like fish (except for tuna salad – or in sushi..yeah I get the irony), brocoli or cooked carrots. That list used to include other foods such as cauliflower and brussel sprouts, but since losing a huge group of food (ie. gluten), I decided I needed to branch out and add more foods to my repertoire.

Being so sick last week meant I had trouble eating anything (mainly just due to lack of appetite/desire to eat because digesting food was painful). Since I had bought cauliflower to make this recipe, and semi-solid food was about as far as I was willing to go, I decided to take a risk and go for it.

This is definitely a dish best served HOT. Don’t let anyone fool you – it still tastes like cauliflower, but the taste is less noticeable when eaten hot instead of cold.

For those curious, I was able to get about 10 bites in before I stopped eating. Baby steps.

I adapted the recipe from here – modifications noted below.

You need:

1 head of cauliflower

1/4 cup of whole or raw milk (while I love almond milk, I’m not afraid of eating milk – I’m more primal than paleo)

Scoop of raw butter (or butter from grassfed cows if you don’t have access)

2 slices of Swiss Cheese (I would actually use more than this because I didn’t think it was enough. While I’m sure goat cheese would be delicious, my body doesn’t digest goat cheese well) – this isn’t totally paleo/primal, and if I wasn’t sick, I would have skipped it. But again..trying to get as many calories into my body as possible

Salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste

Fill saucepan with water and bring to a boil

Chop head of cauliflower into small pieces (easier to blend)

Once water boils, add cauliflower and cover…cooking 5-7 minutes, or until soft. I didn’t have a lid for my biggest pot, so I covered with a plate. This is not the first part of my makeshift cooking.

Drain cauliflower, once soft, and add the rest of the ingredients.

Okay here you’re supposed to do it like mashed potatoes and use a hand mixer….my pot wasn’t deep enough and cauliflower was flying everywhere (I’m still finding it), so I poured everything into my VitaMix and blended it there.

Mine ended up a bit runnier than I would have preferred, but I added more than 1/4 cup milk because I was trying to get as many nutrients in as possible. So stick to the 1/4 c milk, and you should be fine.

Like the recipe I linked to above, I topped mine with olive oil, salt, garlic powder and pepper. This is the kind of recipe that really could take on any flavor..so next time, I may try adding bacon? I adore bacon.

Unfortunately I don’t have good time estimates of how long everything took me to do, but imagine me, a lazy cook, who was sick and hating life..and I could do it. So under 20 minutes. BAM.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

