Probi-what?

I hope y’all had a very Merry Christmas! Don’t worry, I’ll post all about mine soon enough.

Before I do that, I wanted to write a little bit about probiotics.

Obviously, digestive health is huge for me. And it’s been an even bigger issue during the second half of the year as I endured multiple medical tests that yielded no results as well as accidentally eating gluten more than once in the past few months.

Have I mentioned how much I hate gluten?

But this post isn’t about that. This post is about those nice, happy bacteria that help me feel better. Or simply put, good bacteria.

Growing up, I never took them. I don’t think I even knew what they were. And every time I’d have to take antibiotics, my stomach would get shredded. Almost worse than having the infection. Then one day, my dad recommended I take these weird things called probiotics to help battle the antibiotics killing all the bacteria in my system.

I refuse to take antibiotics without them now.

Now probiotics are the cool thing. Pinkberry, Yagoot, Activia, all repping these bacteria.

But those have lots of sugar. And you have to eat a lot to get the amount needed. So I take a daily supplement.

After taking whatever seemed the most effective via packaging, my doctor recommended I take Florastar, which is a fungal probiotic. Sounds gross, I know. But here’s something that’s happened since I’ve taken them. I haven’t gotten sick. Not like digestive sick, I’ve gotten that still, but cold/flu sick.

I’ve been around germs, people who’ve been sick, traveled, had to mess with my eyes because of my contacts, and I’m still kicking. I do take Airborne anytime I’m worried I might be getting sick, but I really attribute this to probiotics. If your gut is healthy, your immune system is much more likely to be good, in my experience.

Try them. You’ll never look back.

And nope…not a promotional post. Not popular enough for those 🙂

One thought on “Probi-what?

Leave a Reply

